How To Get More Riders Into The Sport?

As everyone has seen more and more teams are shutting down or pulling out of regions. I feel the best way to bring more riders into the sport which would increase the dollars in the sport is by getting more riders involved. My suggestion is clubs/tracks need to have a way a member or staff can help a person that is wanting to get into the sport by having a bike they can ride and gear to wear. I'm not saying a brand new bike and top of the line gear. I'm talking an older bike that parts are cheaper and easy to get, and donated gear. This way a person can see if they like the sport before they make the huge investment it takes to get into it. I know I started riding at 25 because my father-in-law has an extra bike that he took me out on. If it wasn't for someone offering me the opportunity I would have never dumped all the money I have into the sport which helps companies support teams and promote the sport. Lets hear other suggestions on how to increase money and riders into the sport we all love.

I'm not sure if this directly addresses your question but one thing I think is very lacking (at least in Georgia) is places where outright beginners can ride. I've been trying to get people into the sport and the same problem is always that even the easiest trails in the parks are just too hard for outright beginners to learn on.

Bikes are expensive, but they always have been. It has never been a cheap sport to get involved with. I think it also has a good bit to do with promotion and marketing. It still is treated very much as a niche sport. I rarely see commercials advertising bikes, especially on the more mainstream channels.