Sign in to follow this  

What does the Air Cutoff Valve do?

I'm new to this style of carb...and I've seen a few discussions about the Air Cutoff Valve. What does it do? What are the typical symptoms of a bad one?

I have an '86 XR600R (dual carbs)...and it starts and runs fine for the most part...my only minor complaint is a bit of backfiring on decel. Sanding the joints and making sure everything fit well in my exhaust system seamed to help that a bit but it's still there. Could the Air Cutoff Valve effect this? It's an old bike...

its really simple

it cuts off air to the pilot circuit when on hard hard decel or any decel for that matter

on other bikes and models its sometimes called and ENRICHENING valve

its purpose is to detract from popping on decel which is a sever lean condition caused by hard decels...most any 4stroke will do it to some extent

what you need to make sure is that the valve operates well

if not you will have bad idle issues or no idle at all and have to use constant throttle input, this in the case especially on the xr6, but others too.

basically it has 2 functions

1 help idle and 2 enrich decel to avoid popping and to a certain extent backfiring...

cheers

• Like 1

Good description Elsalvator. Just to add to the above that the reason this air cutoff valve was installed was to permit using a leaner PJ to lower the emissions. Its definitely not needed and many people just block it off and properly tune the PJ circuit.

Edited by D0T-C0M
  • Like 1

Good description Elsalvator. Just to add to the above that the reason this air cutoff valve was installed was to permit using a leaner PJ to lower the emissions. Its definitely not needed and many people just block it off and properly tune the PJ circuit.