New bike for mostly trail riding.

Hi guys,

This is my first post here. I am new to dirt bikes and i am looking for one. I have a lot of trails near me and a old grass airport to do tons of riding on. I have had a quad for quite a while now so i know how to ride clutch but ive never ridden a dirtbike so much (Only a couple of times at friends house). I am selling the quad and will have about $5000 when it sells. I am 15 and i am 5'10" 155LBS. I was almost sold on a 2010 KX250f i saw with 10 hours in amazing condition for $3800 but then a friend told me i shouldnt get a kx if i am going to be doing trail riding i should get something like a ktm xc or something like that . I know i shouldnt be looking for such big bikes for my first dirtbike but i am younger and it will be hard for me to get another one and earn a lot of money that easy and i would probably get a new bike within a year anyway. What other bikes would you guys recomend for trails. I wouldnt want a bike to slow. All my friends all have 125 2 strokes and two of then have kx 250 2 strokes and i want to keep up with them. I was looking at ktm xc and they look pretty nice but if the kx will do the same in trails i would love to get it because of the amazing price.Also how hard do you guys think it will be for me to learn on a bigger bike like the kx250 or ktm 250 xc. I want to stay away from klx or drz or bikes ilke that. My main question is what bikes would you guys recomend for trail riding (sometimes technical) a little bit of road and field riding and maybe some track occasionaly i dont want a bike that dosent have too much performance like klx or drz. Does the kx handle trails well?

Any input will be greatly appreiciated.

I would also maybe think about getting a 125 but i dont know if those would be good for trails.

Edited by liampac70

The 125s aren't good on trails because they have no bottom end. Look for a ktm 200 exc/xc/xcw. Also check out any 250 two stroke.