Sign in to follow this  

Spoiled by yamaha

So i WAS. Yami guy for years, im a Vet B rider on a good day, 175 lbs. although i had my old bikes done by ENZO it didnt feel as an emergency becuase my YZFs had great stock feeling.

My New 2013 KTM 350 sxf is a great overall bike, but these forks are HARSH. , i cannot send them out til after summer so i need to soften that intitial hit in the front. Its unbelievably different than the Yami in that respect.........

Suggestions besides just softening compression on clickers please..

Thanks

Any post any how to video links on what i can do

do you only use it for mx? if so you will need to drop a couple of spring rates mainly on the front but do you have a race/static sag numbers for the rear?

Edited by yamaha837

The springs fit perfectly for a 80 kg/ 175 lbs MX Rider. If you ride woods you may drop a rate, but this wont solve your problem.

I just have the 450 and 250 stacks for the 13 KTMs but I think the 350 wont be much different.

Actually I copied these stacks with a smaller base clamp for a SXF 350 11 and the rider is quite happy.

More input data are needed for proper advise.

Type of riding, where do you notice the harshness, terrain and so on...

Sorry to hear your 350 fork is giving you trouble.

A real solution is going to require internal modifications; valving changes at a minimum. Changes like springs and oil level can make the fork softer but won't really change the overall ride character. If you are able to do the work yourself, you might try Vietze's suggestion as an intermediate fix.

The us 350 seems very harsh and the euro one much less harsh so I wonder if the stacks are very different

What is harsh about them? Mistroke? I found that the 350 was mainly harsh on choppy stuff. Id play with the rebound try to speed it up and also try going stiffer on compression to bring it higher in the stroke. Some people are taking out 20cc of oil and that helps.