Sign in to follow this  

How bad was your first ride of the season?

Weather finally started shaping up here in NY and ive only gotten to ride twice before the loretta lynns qualifier this weekend. And needless to say, i couldn't even hold on for 5 minutes, my arms just pumped up and I could hardly pull in the clutch. Ive never had it this bad, even the first rides of the season. And i feel like my gym routine is to blame, ive been doing a power lifting routine for about 7 months. Anyway, i will be switching up my routine now that riding season has come around but i want to be able to hold on racing this weekend, any pre-race tips to minimize arm pump? Potassium helps with cramps, anything help with arm pump? Stretching? What kinds of stretches work good? Only have until saturday with two short rides under my belt..

I also have new bars, mounts, and grips this year but i don't think that is the cause (pillow tops, easton), most likely my workout routine.

Honestly its more of a mind over matter kind of thing. One thing you can do is grip the bike with your legs to make it somewhat easier on your arms but your going to get tired all you can do is push through it and make it towards the end. Most motos are what 4 laps anyways right? I get 6 laps but thats not all that much. Thats about 12 minutes i guess the novices are doing that but anyways just push through it.