Jumping, help

I'm in my first year of racing had my first race this weekend, I've been ridin since I was 4 but live in a area where everywhere is flat land an never really jumped, when I go to practices I jump almost everything but I've wiped out a few times, as soon as I get in the air I freeze up and unconsciously I let off the gas on the face of the jump right before I take off, I know it's mostly from fear and not having enough confidence but I was wondering if some people could tell me what their technique is so I can try new stuff, talked to a guy at the races and he said confidence is key, and that jumping is the easiest part if u don't have confidence u won't be doing anything.. Made it worse when in my first race ever before the first lap was done someone landed on me because I didn't take the jump and he did, thought I had a broken arm but I was good, scary moment only got one lap in :( raced moto 2 though !

First off, welcome to the forum!

In my opinion, when you look at jumping from the riders perspective, there are three main aspects: Body position, Throttle control and Speed.

The key is to attack jumps, on the throttle going up the ramp, being neutral on the bike, using your legs to pinch the frame for stabilizing and then controlling the pitch and yaw in the air via your body. When you attack a jump on the throttle, the bike will preload both the front and rear suspension properly and that will give you a nice clean even flight.