Sign in to follow this  

Yamaha pw50 wont run. Please help

So I have been riding for 16 yrs now & am passing it down to my 5 yr old son. I bought him a 2013 pw50 several weeks ago & he has put about 4-5 hrs on it so far. We have had a LOT of rain the past couple weeks & that hasn't let him ride, well I was going to take him 2morrow after work & I got his bike out to go over it incase there was something I might have missed b4 putting it up last time he rode. Then topped it off w/ fresh gas & went to start it. Took several kicks which was odd & once it finally started I switched the choke off & it died. I started it again & let it warm up a lil bit & this time left the choke on & switched it from "start" to "run" & it died again = like it was starving for fuel. I the pulled the air box checked air filter = clean as a whistle. Then took the carb off & took the jets out & blew em off w/ the air compressor & then blew air thru out the whole carb just incase there might have been something somewhere. Put it all back together & went to start it again which took even more kicks than b4. After getting it started it still dies when shutting off the choke but now when it's running on choke & I switch it from "start" to "run" it wants to go all by itself w/ out twisting the throttle. The throttle slide isn't stuck open cause I checked it b4 putting the airbox back on. I would call the dealer but they are closed on Mon. Was also thinking about buying replacement jets... Any info or tips from anyone? Thx in advance, Steve

I cant imagine its the jets this early. Did you check the plug? They load up quick from being jetted rich. What happened to me after i got my sons running was that he wanted to start it to 'see if its still fixed' when we couldnt ride and ended up loading the plug. Just wipe it dry and spray a bit of carb cleaner in there, replace the plug and start it.

Ive also had to back the throttle stop screw out so you can clear it out once warmed up easier.