09 Kx250f Problems i can't figure out

Hello. I bought an 09 kx250f this winter. first rides went great. but just before my first race, the bike wont start. it popstarts but will not kickstart. After the bike is popstarted, it runs just like it usually does. Ive changed the spark plug and cleaned the air filter. CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME WITH THIS ISSUUE?!

Sounds like valves to me. Im gonna take a swing in the dark and say one of your intakes are out of spec.

Yup, classic symptoms of needing the valves adjusted.

Engine cold.. Intake.. 0.10~0.15 mm.. Exhaust.. 0.17~0.22 mm.

If it could possibly be that, can it still be raced with until i have the time to get it fixed?

If it could possibly be that, can it still be raced with until i have the time to get it fixed?

Not a good idea. The longer you run it with them leaking, the greater the chance a simple valve shim job will turn into a total head rebuild.

oK but i dont see anything leaking? im new to having to adjust these things

And if once the valves are shimmed, do i have to rebreak in the bike or can i just go ride?

And if once the valves are shimmed, do i have to rebreak in the bike or can i just go ride?

Shim and ride.

ok thanks everyone

how will i know if there is damage to the valves and the head when i shime them?