Sign in to follow this  

The Brief Life of a $750 Helmet: KX250F Was Involved

This is more of a general topic, but I thought you might be interested, and it does involve a KX250F.

I have some real-world experience with an expensive product. It has been with us for two weeks. Then there was a crash. I edited the video as best I could to capture the crash. The quality is not good, which is annoying, but that's another story. The bikes were downhill WOT 4th gear so, it was pretty fast. You'll get that from the video. While I was not as concerned with filming after the accident, I had the camera in my hand, so why not?

So, there was a crash. It was bad. You'll see it as a puff of dust. Who caused it doesn't matter so much, and I don't know who did, but I know the other rider either got up or rode on. Thankfully. My son was a lump on the ground in the middle of the track. After the video you'll see, we left the track immediately. I know concussions take time to develop (from experience) and I wanted to be as close to an ER as possible when that happened. I knew it was going to happen.

It didn't happen. My son had a headache for a couple of minutes, then nothing. Looking at the outside of the helmet, you can see the scarring, but what struck me is the depth of the damage and the pattern. The scarring aligns to three separate impacts. The inside shell of the helmet was destroyed, with a clear break-away of the inner shell in the form of my son's head. The energy dissipation these guys talk about works exactly as they describe.

Now the helmet is an ornament. Totally spent. It served it's purpose, though.