Riding in the houston Area

Texas

I am new to riding, had a bike as a kid but just guned it in pastures. I am looking to find some nice people to go riding with,its seems like my other friends dont have time or ended up selling there bikes . I will be classified as a beginner, but would like to get more experience for when my Son will start riding.

I am looking to try to ride on friday -sunday.

awlupher.. good to see you getting back into riding...

Places about Houston are either MX tracks (www.threepalmsesp.com http://www.riobravomx.com/ or Sam Houston National Forest..

Have to pay per ride at the MX clubs plus membership.. SHNF per ride or annual pass from the Ranger station..

Personally haven't ridden at any of the MX tracks.. However, the Forest is a challenge for a beginner as its very sandy which is a beginners nightmare.. Not to say its all sand there are some good to great spots for beginners too. But offroad is all about riding in tough conditions..Hope this give you a starting point..

Another option is Rio Bravo MX. They have a small trail section that might be easier on you to begin with - you're never far from the parking area. More expensive than the forest, but there are a lot of amenities (swimming pool, pavilion you can park under). Check in with them as they offer some reduced rates from time to time for memberships and free rides. http://www.riobravomx.com/

Also go to Texas Offroad Network and Two Wheel Texans for more local info. Google both.

Where are some good trails. The forest is far and heard its woops for miles. I'm tired of all these tracks I've ridden them all 100 times. I'm curious too.

Pay attention to Texas Offroad Network - the AMSA group will have family ride days on properties to be used for hare scrambles (not the same weekend as the race). That is usually between Bastrop and Columbus area, which is an hour or two from West Houston. Middle of summer is the slow time though, as it's too hot/humid for a lot of people.