Sign in to follow this  

1987 XL250R Rebirth

Hello, I need some advice, and I am a novice, but a dedicated one.

I have a 1987 Honda XL250R that has been sitting for five years...I love this thing and I used to have so much fun on it, and I am determined to get it going again. I have the Honda Service Manual for this bike...

However my piston is seized. (I know it’s a bad thing)

I have been putting penetrating oil in the spark plug hole but to no avail.

Now trying to get to the cylinder and piston to check em out.

Took Cylinder head Cover off, but could not rotate engine to get TDC...I hope I didn't kill it already.

Problem now is cam chain won't move to get to the bolts to take off Cylinder Head...In the book its says lift the cam chain tensioner up, but it’s stuck down in there… I’d hate to cut cam chain

[Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

Edited by Cactus777

Cactus , have you undone the camchain tensioner ? If so you should be able to lift the chain off of the camchain sprocket and then take out the cam . You wont need to worry about having the motor at TDC for stripping down , but you will when assembling , greg

• Like 1

Thanks for replying Greg..

Your absolutly right I should have done that, unfortunately I pushed a pin out on my cam chain and released it that way.

I have my cylinder head off, and the piston is siezed at the top (picture included)

Putting PB Blaster, Liquid wrench on th piston for the last several days....Samcked it a couple of times (but not too hard) piston did not move...

A mechanic told me that he could "easily" unstick the piston, for a price....But I have never heard of anyone so confident...I have no extra money to put in the bike...So I think he's ploying me.

Question: Should I heat the piston with a torch kit from home depot? If so how long...Then what?

Question: I can't get my bike back into nuetral... So how do I and what do I turn to try and move the piston...