carrying speed through corners

hey guys im relatively new to motocross and have only been to the track a handful of times, but my biggest concern right now is keeping my speed up and getting through corners SAFELY! i figure once i get that down then the jumping and actually clearing the jumps will come. But right now my biggest problem is keeping my front wheel in a rut. ive been practicing getting up on the tank, elbows up and overgripped, and weighting the outside peg.. but my front tire keeps jumping out! how do i stop my front end from jumping out? it doesnt matter whether its a bowl corner or even a homemade rut/berm.. am i maybe not leaning it over enough?

Any helps great!

hey guys im relatively new to motocross and have only been to the track a handful of times, but my biggest concern right now is keeping my speed up and getting through corners SAFELY! i figure once i get that down then the jumping and actually clearing the jumps will come. But right now my biggest problem is keeping my front wheel in a rut. ive been practicing getting up on the tank, elbows up and overgripped, and weighting the outside peg.. but my front tire keeps jumping out! how do i stop my front end from jumping out? it doesnt matter whether its a bowl corner or even a homemade rut/berm.. am i maybe not leaning it over enough?

Any helps great!

Drag the front brake to keep it planted in the rut and be steady with the throttle. Keeping a little load on the motor will allow you to lean over further and will keep the bike pushing into the rut instead of just wanting to fall or skip over the rut. You may not be leaning enough but you should still be able to keep your tire in the rut to a certain extent. Remeber, clutch, throttle, and brakes will all effect your cornering ability, as well as body position.