Sign in to follow this  

First time at the track

I have never been to a track and i have been riding for a few months now and i was wondering how good do you have to be before you go to a track. I leave near pala raceway and i was wondering if I should wait before i go. I have all the basic skills down and feel pretty confident on a bike, but i haven't done any jumps before. I was wondering if i am good enough to go to a track. Thanks

Going to the track will be a rude awakening for you. You're going to have guys that think they're pros that are compensating, not yielding to inexperienced riders making them wreck or make mistakes. Remember they have to yield to slower riders. It's the track rules.

My suggestion would be to go either really late in the day or early in the morning. A cloudy day would be best, that way the track traffic won't be as bad, So you can learn.

There are a lot of good guys at the track, but also a lot of shit heads that ruin it for everybody.

There are all types of skill levels out on the track. You will be good to go. Just be smart. Don't ride above your skill level. Don't try to push yourself too hard. Yield to any rider who is faster then you. Just move out of there way and let them pass easily. Other then that I think you will be good to go.

Just go you gotta learn some how. My first time on a track my uncle threw me in with the wolves, it was a race at RedBud back in 1994 on a kx 60. Had on brand new boots and couldn't even shift out of first, it was a horrible experience lol... Just be confident, being nervous and riding tight will get you hurt. If you go just look ahead, ride outside/inside lines and you must HOLD YOUR LINE. Don't worry about anyone else on the track the faster guys will go around you. Good luck!

Edited by MXpro787

Definatly go. But remember to hold your line. Don't move from side to side on the track. Faster riders will work around you without issue if you do that.