Sign in to follow this  

Check if 3x3 Mod has been done

Hi,

First post to the forum as I am picking up my new 2008 DRZ from dealer this week.

Can't wait.

There is no history with the bike and it has a few after-market accessories.

I have no mechanical background and wondering if there is anyway to easily check if the 3x3 mod has been done to the bike?

Looking to pass the responses on this question to the shop to check for me.

Unless the checks are relatively straight forward, in which I will take a look.

Thanks,

Daniel

Hi,

First post to the forum as I am picking up my new 2008 DRZ from dealer this week.

Can't wait.

There is no history with the bike and it has a few after-market accessories.

I have no mechanical background and wondering if there is anyway to easily check if the 3x3 mod has been done to the bike?

Looking to pass the responses on this question to the shop to check for me.

Unless the checks are relatively straight forward, in which I will take a look.

Thanks,

Daniel

Yea, take the seat off and see if there is a large hole cut out of the top of the airbox, approx. 3 x 3".

as the name implies.. the 3x3 mod at it's base is a 3" x 3" hole cut in the air box top.. It follows the same hole that a DRZ E would have once the rubber air boot is removed.

A second outer visual clue would be the brass cap that covers the fuel screw in the carb from the factory , if in place, no adjustments have been made ie no complete 3x3 mod.. If missing the brass cap it MIGHT have been adjusted.