Sign in to follow this  

My cross country weapon

So I am entering my first xc at the end of the month. And decided to pull the trigger on some new parts for my 04 cr250.

Ordered up a 10 oz fww the thin base gasket from the 05 cr250. And a phatheads hi compression kit. I already have a large skid plate and hand guards. Fresh tires on the way.

First question how much does the thinner base gasket rais compression. I already run 100ll in it. Will this fuel resist detonation.

On there website the next head up says 95+ octane fuel.

So I'm wondering if the combination of the base gasket and hi compression head will work.

I am also considering the magura clutch.

Questions comments input.

Thanks guys

Sounds like you've got a deadly combination. I'm no expert on gasket/power tips, but I do race alot of hare-scrambles and it sounds like you'll be set. 👍

So I called up magura direct to ask some questions about there clutch kits. At the end of the conversation I asked how much is it. He himmed and hawed for a second and. Says he can do 225 plus 20 for shipping to Canada.

So I pulled the trigger on it. I couldn't help myself.

The best price I could find in Canada was like 300 plus tax and shipping. And they weren't sure it would work with my bike.

I am so freaking excited to get all these parts in.

well tuned suspension will make you faster than any motor mods. for your first XC race i recomend getting to know a local suspension guy and have him tune yours.

well tuned suspension will make you faster than any motor mods. for your first XC race i recomend getting to know a local suspension guy and have him tune yours.

This +68.

That!

That's a good idea. I plan to have my suspension revalved and sprung for my weight likely this winter. I have no idea where it's set right now. I am going down towards Toronto next weekend and know a place that is great to deal with. So hopefully they can spend some time with me

Edited by redwheeliemonster