Sign in to follow this  

oh man another newbie!

Greetings from Florida! I have an itch to get in the dirt, and try out hare scrambles and enduro. I live about 30 minutes from Croom and Dade city, so I'll probably go hoon it up there as well. I have some experience as a teenager putzing around in a Honda C70 clutchless 3-speed scooter. What a hoot! Haven't been on a motorcycle since.

What I know:

1. I would be safest learning around 250cc or less, and a 4-stroke would be easer to learn on. With that said, I'm no idiot. Having one million CC's would not cause me to uncontrollably use it. I've had the experience of holding the throttle open while the bike drives away underneath me. Been there already.
  2. There's no way in hell I'm spending more than about 2K to find out if this is for me, as I'll have to rotate out of an old hobby (probably RC cars) to get into it.
  3. It'd be nice to be in something street legal, but just barely. I want a 90% dirt bike, 10% road bike.
  4. I'd really prefer KTM, there's a lot of support for it around here. Honda, Kawasaki, and Yamaha are all good alternatives.
  5. I've read up on most of the online stuff about how to check a used bike out before buying it. I'll be taking a compression tester, checking for leaks, obvious maintenance items, ignoring the cosmetics, and watching to see how the owner warms it up.

What I don't know:

1. I know that 2-cycles are cheaper to maintain (no valve train), but need more frequent rebuilds. That said, I'm a little turned off of used 4-stroke motors, because they are more sensitive to poor maintenance. I'm probably looking at a 7-12 year old bike, and I get the sense a 2-stroke is a safer bet. Is that accurate?
  2. How old a bike should I get, and still have good enough parts availability? I'm trying to cut it off about 2001, but hey, if a 95 looked like it was maintained, I could be tempted sub 1K.