Sign in to follow this  

New XR250L

I bought a 96 XR250L for 1500 a few weeks ago and have just finished fixing the minor little things that were broken on it , mirrors turn signals replaced the front tube, etc. I need to do an oil change on it still. How do you guys like the xr250 for around town driving and commuting? And is there anything issuewise that I should look out for on this bike?

I have a street legal XR250L 1997, I use it mainly off-road, but if I go to town, sometimes I take it as well, the XR250 is a great all-round bike, I've been riding XR's for two decades now, without too many problems, bullet proof as they say

I bought a 96 XR250L for 1500 a few weeks ago and have just finished fixing the minor little things that were broken on it , mirrors turn signals replaced the front tube, etc. I need to do an oil change on it still. How do you guys like the xr250 for around town driving and commuting? And is there anything issuewise that I should look out for on this bike?

Monitor your oil level to get a feel for how much it uses and keep it at the full mark.

These bikes are hard on oil. When you change the oil, notice how smooth it shifts. With conventional 20W-50 oil, the shifting gets notchy when the oil needs changing in as little as 100 miles.

The bikes are jetted lean. It will start on the first kick almost every time with a 40 or 42 pilot jet. The stock 122 main is very lean especially if you change the exhaust and intake.

Don't try to go moe than a few rides without checking the oil! Otherwise a great round town and commuter bike.

The bike is covered in JetsRUs.com stickers, I'm wondering if it has been rejetted? I'm not sure how to tell or of you even can.

Thanks for the advice on the oil, I noticed she was a little low when I picked her up.

What oils do you all run in your XR250s?

You need to remove the float bowl and look for the tiny numbers on the jets.

Or you can just judge whether it runs well or feels choked off.