Sign in to follow this  

XL600 -83 Weird stator readings

Hi, I'm building a tracker/scrambler bike from an old -83 XL600. I'm reasonably handy but I have very little experience with motorcycles. Yesterday I was measuring the resistance of the stator coil just to check if it needed to be replaced as I've read that they often burn. Anyways, in the Haynes manual it says :

Charging coil (pink-yellow) : 0.95-1.29 ohm,

Lighting (yellow/white - gnd) : 04 - 0.55 ohm,

Exciter (black/red - gnd) : 230-320 ohm

My values

Charging : 1.4 ohm

Lighting : 0.7 ohm

Exciter : 1205 ohm

Apparently my exciter value is completely off - what does that mean? I thought the resistance would be lower if the stator has burned and short circuited ? The values I got was read from the connector that comes out of the stator housing on the left side of the engine.

Thankful for any thoughts and input on this!

Ps Of course the obvious question is Does it start and does it run well ? As the whole bike is in pieces I cant answer that, but it was running fine before I took it apart 😉 Ds

I'm not sure why its that high. I have an 83 xl600 that has no spark. I have a post up on here about my problems. Anyways, my stator tested at over 700 ohms. I rewound it and have it at 250 ohms with no spark still. Either way I'd be curious of the answer to this as well.

Oh, another thing is mine ran pretty good and then I parked it for almost two months. Then I tried starting it and discovered it had no spark. Maybe these stators are becoming possessed while being out of service. Lol