Sign in to follow this  

92' xr600 forks on a 79' xr500...?

Hey there everyone. I'm new to this great site due to a recent pick up of an 79 XR500 in decent shape. I've been soaking in all the info and searching everything I can. I'm pretty new to dirt bikes, although I can wrench on anything.

I've tried searching and as much information as I came across nothing directly answered my question. From what I gather my steering stem dimensions are 26x47x15 upper and lower and is the same as the stem on the 79-84 xr500r. Is this correct? Also I have a chance to get a 92' xr600 complete front end and can't find the dimensions for it. I know the forks are bigger but if i swap trees and all should it fit? If the stem is the same and the bearings are different could I just use everything off the xr6 front end including the stem and then use the xr5 bearings on the "new" fork stem. I'd love to get a disc brake and get rid of the 23... thanks for any advice.

-Eric

Edited by PCDirt

yes yes yes

Just that simple.

Way better forks, disk,21" wheel, all 13 years newer parts.

It's a beautiful thing.

did the 600 go USD?

Edited by MindBlower

Post this on the XR600-650 board for lots of specific help from lots of guys that have done it.

Here's my 85 Xr350 with 2001 CR125 front end.

WP_000002_zps98a34771.jpg

Nice bike MB. So it looks like I should snag up this front end. I shouldn't have any problems with the stem? If I post this in the xr600 forum will I get flamed for double posting? Thanks for the help guys.

They probably haven't read this since they didn't reply, probably won't flame you anyway. Even if they do, it hurts way less than one good crash :D

You can google allballs and look at their steering swap bearing charts for the two in question. If the bearings are the same, it will probably swap with OEM bearings. If not, you probably need conversion bearings. Not a big deal, just a few bux.