Sign in to follow this  

I crashed! (pics) Need gear!

Hi Guys, new here. I have been riding ATV'S all my life, just recently switched over and got a 2006 Honda CRF 250x...and crashed it.

The usual story on the crash, got too confident as a beginner, and lost it on some gravel (~35 mph). I got really bad road rash, lost chunks of fingernail, and sprained an ankle. If you want to see some gross (graphic) pics, click here. The bike is fine BTW.

I already have a helmet (I was wearing it), but I need some gear to protect myself from this in the future. I am totally new at this, and have no idea what to buy.

I want:

protection for elbows, arms, hands, legs, knees, and good boots with ankle support.

Something breathable (cool enough for summer, and warm enough for cool temps)

To look cool!

Some info about me (if you even need it):

6'3''

180 lbs

Size 11 shoes

33 waist.

I'd really appreciate some advice! The budget really isn't too much of a problem, but this shouldn't be ridiculously expensive. Remember you are buying for a new rider! 🙂

Thanks so much!

• Like 1

From the pics it seems like you were wearing shorts and a t-shirt when this happened.. even if you don't have gear you should be wearing jeans, some type of work/hiking boots, something long sleeve and gloves! Stuff you might have around the house could have greatly reduced the amount of injury.

Like backyard hack said, go to some stores and try stuff on. Cycle gear sells their 'BiLT' brand for dirt cheap. Not high end stuff but a good place to start if you don't have a lot of money.

1. Helmet/Goggles

2. Gloves

3. Riding boots

4. Knee pads

5. Riding pants

6. Jersey

7. Elbow pads

8. Chest protection

9. Neck brace

This is how I rate protective gear as far as importance... It was formed while learning to ride and after several get-offs. But again, if anything you need to get all of your skin covered and support your ankles. That alone will make a huge difference.