2012 KX250f Idle stays high after revving

Hey guys I have a problem with my idle after I rev the bike. When I start it, it idles fine, but as soon as you give it a bit of revs the idle stays high and takes quite a while to drop back down. Sometimes it won't drop down till I let the clutch out.

Any ideas where to start looking?

The bikes done 30hrs and has just had the valves shimmed. The problem was there before the bike was shimmed.

Also I'm not sure if this is related, but when the bikes hot it gets real hard to start, and when I finally get it started it coughs and splutters for a few seconds before it comes good.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks. I'm new to bike mechanics so you might have to dumb down some technical terms.

Could be an air leak at the intake manifold or a faulty sensor like the TPS

Running my second heat cycle the revs only stayed up for a half second. The problem seems to be fixing itself. It could be because my bike hasn't been ran in so long!

Nevermind, the problem is back! The only way for me to get the idle to drop down is to turn the idle screw way down!

Could be an air leak at the intake manifold or a faulty sensor like the TPS

Shawn, I know this is an older thread, but I know what walker is talking about.  Any ideas here?  Hanging idle on an FI bike . . . any ideas?

Hmmm. Could it be the hot start or whatever they are calling it ? you know when you turn those it changes the idle. possible leak or something ?? sorry I sound retarded, have the flu.....

Al

Hmmm. Could it be the hot start or whatever they are calling it ? you know when you turn those it changes the idle. possible leak or something ?? sorry I sound retarded, have the flu.....

Al

You may be on to something there.  It is a high-idle knob, but it looks just like a hot start plunger.  It is also subject to obvious wear.  Good post and hope you feel better  👍

• Like 1