Sign in to follow this  

lowering seat height

What's the easiest way to lower the seat height on my 2011 drz400s ? I'm not a mechanical genious but can turn a wrench.

Thanks in advance guys!

Edited by galtre1

What's the easiest way to lower the seat height on my 2011 drz400s ? I'm not a mechanical genious but can turn a wrench.

Thanks in advance guys!

Lowering links or shave the seat. Or adjusting the preload nut on the rear shock. Changing the shock settings will also change the way the bike handles so be carefull there. I put DRZ 2 lowering links on mine increaced the rear spring preload lowering the rear just 1" and raised the front forks in the tree as mutch as I could to match the rear. I think my bike ha better now but thats just me

Thanks you guys are great,but how would I maintain the ride angle if I dropped down with those 2" dogbones?

Thanks you guys are great,but how would I maintain the ride angle if I dropped down with those 2" dogbones?

I cut the fork springs 1-3/4" then slid the tubes up in the tree's 1/4" to match the rear.

Not necessarily the best way to do it but its working for me.

Links will work combined with dropping the fork tubes in the clamp.. but only on a lightly ridden bike.. that you do not care about suspension use and performance.

If the bike gets off loaded from a trailer and ridden down the fire road to the group shower / latrine, hill top scenic overview (that soccer moms van can get to) and you just want a lower seat height at cost of all else..links are the ticket.

The correct and better way to lower the bike is in combination with using the right length spring, lower forks and shock internally.