Sign in to follow this  

DR650 headlight on/off switch relay

CAM00055.jpgI have a 2008 DR650SE and have read several forums regaurding installing an on/off switch for the main headlamp as US models do not have this capability. I think I have a safe, cheap $10.00 solution which should work relying on the side kickstand switch to turn on/off the headlamp via a relay (as i usually start the DR while it is on it's sidestand which would keep the headlamp off, and when it would be raised up the headlamp would come on). I have some limited experience with relays but have a question about wiring it in. I plan to install a 4 prong relay which will be swithched/activated (using the side stand switch connected to post 85) to turn off either high/low beam when the kick stand is down. My question is: Can I use the NEGATIVE wiring from the headlamp (shared by both low and high beam and goes to neg batt) and splice it to post 87 and then connect post 30 to neg batt? The reason I ask is because most relay diagrams show post 87 and post 30 interrupting/swiiching the POSITIVE side (i.e., the lamp and the fused positive batt) and not interrupting/switching the NEGATIVE side of the headlamp (i.e., headlamp negative side to neg batt). It seems reasonable that it wouldn't matter but I dont want to find out through trial and error and fry wiring. The reason I want to use the negative side is I can only figure out, using just one relay, how to interrupt EITHER high OR low beam (not both at the same time) usung the posive side as they each have independent wiring. BTW, I will supply power to post 86 from ignition on positive. If I've thoroughly confused everyone, Here's my diagram plan

CAM00055.jpg

Bypass the kikstand switch and use a simple oushbutton on an off switch.u should be able to use both grounds together too.

• Like 1