Sign in to follow this  

XT550 Possible Electrical Short?

Hi there ... please bare with me, I am not overly technical with some terms as I am new to the cycle world - and starting with a rather beat up Yamaha '82 XT550.

A bit of history about the bike (as far as I know of it) - My brother owned and ran the bike for about 6 months, then it all of a sudden stopped working. It's seen its share of the road from its side as well as rolling when he owned it, so it's pretty beat up in some parts. After sitting for a bit over a year, my husband & I acquired it and have been trying (in vain) to get it running again.

-We can get the head light to work, and tail light - tail light only when the foot break is pressed, or it is set in Park via the key. 

-Flashers don't work at all.

-Ignition coil (and the spare we were given) - test out in range

-Stator Coil and Pulser Coil - test in range and have been well cleaned

-Carbs - cleaned and re-worked

-Electrical wise - seems to have had a wire in the harness that burnt under the cover by the ignition switch (repaired the burnt ends and replaced the connections

-Flasher Relay Fuse - replaced, wires test out in range but still don't work

We have run all of the tests people have said to run, and replaced quite a few of the smaller parts - all we can think of next to replace is the CDI itself ... I wanted to try and build one as a test CDI to know if ours is actually bad, but the DIY CDI for this bike has disappeared off the web it seems.

The only real thing that is bugging me ... the headlight works great, but no other lights work like they are supposed to ... could that fact cause the electrical not give a spark to kick it over? Or could the CDI be so glitchy that it only runs the headlight and some rare times the horn?