Sign in to follow this  

What is a good beginner trial bike?

I've been riding enduro-like offroad for just two years. But I'm starting to think maybe it's time to switch hobby. It's starting to get boring. Just trying to go faster and faster. Just a matter of time before I wrap myself around a tree and have to be hauled out in a stretcher.

But I'm not going to give up motorcycle. I'm thinking trial bike is safer and maybe more fun.

What bikes should I look for on Craigslist. For example, I saw a Yamaha TY350.

I don't think there's any organized trial riding here in Houston. So I might have to just learn in skate board park or something, and teaching myself trial. I already master the stand-up part riding trails.

Not really interested in competing. I do not have a competitive personality.

Besides, the nearest trial competition is 3 hours drive away.

Edited by Terminatr

The standard answer -- buy as new of a bike as you can afford and find at a good price.. I would not go older than late 90s... a "modern" trials bike - mono-shock, water cooled, disk brakes. I just upgraded from a 96 to a 2013 and find the extreme performance of a "latest greatest" a negative at my skill level. But I will master it, no going back once you have riden the best. :jawdrop:

Trials comps are fun. Not stressfull like a Hare Scramble race. Try it you will like it. :thumbsup:

I think I 'm going to buy new; I just got a raise. I heard Beta is the best.

What engine size should I get: 125, 200, 250, 300?

What is usually the out-the-door price for trials bike? For example, Beta 125 is $7100 MSRP.

Is it like buying a dirtbike? Dealer add setup fees and BS like that.

Edited by Terminatr