Sign in to follow this  

will it be okay to take off a couple of links

I am just wondering if it would be okay to take off a couple of links of my chain to tight in it cuz it is way to lose right now and it is on my yz125 dirt bike??? I need help and I am new to dirtbike's. and what should I do to my bike for maintenance.

Yes, you can either take off a couple of links with say, a grinder or a hacksaw(grinder is preferable if you know how to use one safely), or you can adjust the wheel by moving it backwards(but I assume that you have already done this)-if you have not, loosen the axle bolt, taking care to ensure you know what position the brake is in, so you can put it back properly, then pull the wheel backward, tighten a little so it stays in place, and use the wheel alignment beside the axle to make sure it is straight.

as for general maintenance, use some sort of chain lube after you clean your bike(or after riding if you are not going to clean it, so it is lubed for the next ride, if you have nothing else wd-40 is fine, also use some wd40 every couple of rides on any moving parts of the bike-swing arm bolt, linkage bearings, wheel bearings etc.

change the transmission oil every 5 or so rides, the more the better but isn't necessary too often so once every 5 or so rides is good, I change mine every 5-7ish rides

clean your air filter with soapy water, rinse with fresh water then oil it with air filter oil, most auto stores will sell air filter oil----important as it is a yz(I have one too and it gets dirty quickly no matter what conditions you ride it, unless you ride it on the track)

also use wd40 on your clutch lever and around the cable, and the brake lever, pretty much anything that moves, keep the carburetta clean and every so often it does not hurt to take the air box off and clean the carby, I opened mine and it had a little crap in it, but in saying that my whole yz250 had been underwater a couple times in the month before that!