Sign in to follow this  

300 XC vs XCW

I am new to the two stroke and am getting ready to purchase my first 2 stroke after riding a buddies 300 the other day- felt like a mountain bike compared to my 450 xcw. Just wondering if anyone can explain the differences between the 300 xc verses the 300 xcw. Is it the gearing that is different or is there more in the engine, suspension and other parts? Which would be better for tight single track/woods riding. Just trying to gather up as much info and experience as possible before making the plunge. Thanks all ahead of time.

I am in the same spot.  I have until the 2014s hit the showrooms to decide.

Essentially, from what I gathered, differences are:

XC                                              XC-W

Lights:                              No (but wiring is there)              Yes

Suspensions Front:          Closed Cartridges                     Open Cartridges

Suspension Rear:            Linked                                       Not linked

Transmission:                  1st and second are a little wider on the XC-W

Ground Clearance:           A few mm more on the XC

Seat height:                      A few mm more on the XC

Rear hub:                          A little wider on the XC

Price:                                Same

It's probably not an exhaustive list, that's what I have found out thus far.

It all comes down to knowing what type of riding you will do the most.

You have an advantage on me in this regards as I am new to off-road.

Good luck with your quest for the ideal version. :-)

Just one opinion, but I would take the XC due to the linked rear suspension and the front fork.