2005 yz250f broken kick start shaft

I will apologize for the lengthy post in advance. I am new to a thumper and need some help. I bought a used 05 yz250f about 6 months ago. Was having a tough time idling so I adjusted fuel screw as described by others here. Bike ran amazing! Actually raced a hare scramble at Carolina Adventure World and not a single problem. However...since then I noticed that there was fuel leaking from the bottom of the carb and it looked like it was coming from the fuel screw. Replaced with an adjustable fuel screw and set it back to the same setting (1 3/4 turns out). Also replaced the air filter (noticed that for some reason someone had two filters being used at once). Tried to crank the bike and could not get it to run. Would turn over and crank but not run. Tried small adjustments with the fuel screw in both directions and still couldn't get it to run. With all the kicking (past TDC and return to top and smooth kick) the kick start shaft broke inside the case. What are my options on the kick start, and what would cause it not to run after the changes I made? Oh...forgot to mention...I was planning on riding the little brown jug enduro next weekend...is that gonna be thrown out the window now?

Ok...so I'm on shift at the firehouse today and I took the bowl off the carb to do a little cleaning. Cleaned the jets (135 72 49...the 135 main just doesn't seem right!) just to be able to do some work to it. Carb is all cleaned up and it appears to still be leaking (probably need new gaskets). I'm still waiting on some of you thumper experts to chime in on all of this and give me some direction as to where to go from here. And the bike also has yoshimura exhaust. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Dang...all the experience and knowledge on this site and nobody chimes in in three days! Guess I'm gonna be on my own for this one!