Confused with Clutch Cable adjusting

Hello everyone,

First and foremost, I am a novice at this. Purchased an 08 kx250f and am having a blast learning and prepping for the upcoming season. I purchased the bike from a private owner and he said it had sat for about a year previous.

It fires right up no problem. It has fresh oil, oil filter, air filter, coolant, and I have lubed just about everything recommended in the instruction / service manual. The bike runs like a champ but I feel it could shift better - ie shifting is not smooth.

The bike sometimes stalls initially when shifting from neutral to first. Not always, but most the time - almost seems like it does it more when its cold. In addition to that, the bike wants to lurch forward when in gear and the clutch pulled. Is this normal? I was under the intention that when the clutch was pulled in the bike should essentially be in "neutral" or am I wrong?

The next question I have is regarding the clutch cable. Should it have play? How much should I have to pull the lever in? - For example, while riding If I have two fingers on the clutch lever and two on my grip should I be able to completely engage the clutch by pulling the lever to my fingers or should I have to pull the lever all the way to the grip in order to correctly shift.

As for adjustment, the whole quick adjust knob confuses the heck out of me. And in all the videos I come across they say to adjust it at the top and/or at the bottom. When I compare the video with my bike, the bottom cable setup on my bike is different. I don't see any adjustment knobs or anything like they show in the video. Here is a picture of my clutch where it enters the engine.

image.jpg

While in neutral, the tire spins effortlessly. While in gear with the clutch pulled it is hard - not impossible - to move the tire. Is this normal?

Sorry if these questions are redundant, I am new to this and just looking for some guidance.