Sign in to follow this  

Currently riding a 450X thinking of upgrading to a newer 450R

I've been riding a 2005 Crf450x for about 2 years now and while i love the bike, I just don't know if it's the best for me. I previously rode a CRF150R expert and prior to that a CR85 big wheel also. The 450x was sort of a hand-me-down from my dad or I probably would've gone with the R model. I only ride in the desert but I wouldn't mind trying out a couple of my local tracks. Even in the desert sometimes i feel that the 450x is just a little too heavy for my liking and wish I had something I could throw around a little easier. I've been eyeing the 09+ 450s ever since they came out and was wondering what your guys' opinion on the EFI is. After some looking around on here I've noticed a lot of people really like the 07 & 08 models. Anyway, I'm just trying to figure out whether upgrading to an 09+ would be worth it or not or if I should look into an 07 or 08 and stay away from the EFI. And if that's the case, would it really be worth upgrading in the first place?

Huge, huge difference between the X and any year R.

The '07 and '08 have the most similar motor and handling feel to the X, but they are soooo much lighter in all respects, and have a more rear weight bias.

I own a '08 R with a stock motor and suspension and ergo changes.

I also own an X with full stage three port and polish / '02 R cam and full suspension work and it's a blast in the desert.....if there aren't too many whoops for too long.  Which of course, there are.

The X requires twice as much 'muscle' to hold a line at speed or to keep on top of the whoops at speed.

But, when you are going slower, especially at sit-down pace, the X is much less busy and much more comfortable. It's still the best handling bike I've ever owned.

But then again,  as soon as you start going down a long, steep, loose terrain hill, it's a bear to keep the X on it's line, and slow it down without using up the whole trail.