Sign in to follow this  

Put my mind at ease...New Cylinder Head

I have just put a new E head on my SM and should be firing it up tomorrow, i am a little worried tho as this is my first time setting the timing and the rest of it all.

My questions are as follows:

1:How do i check that oil is being pumped into the head, also should i pour oil over the cams before starting as the head is dry.

2.How do i check that coolant is flowing through the head as i have put the thermostat on the E head.

3:I put a triple layer athena standard head gasket on the E head, i have read that it runs with a single is this a problem at all.

4: Any recomendations or tips you can give .

Any help would be gratefull, as i am anxious .

1:How do i check that oil is being pumped into the head, --------10mm hex oil check plug above the cam chain tensioner

also should i pour oil over the cams before starting as the head is dry-------Yes

2.How do i check that coolant is flowing through the head as i have put the thermostat on the E head.--------You don't.  Don't worry about it

3:I put a triple layer athena standard head gasket on the E head, i have readicon1.png that it runs with a single is this a problem at all.--------THe base gasket can be 1 or 3 layers.  The head gasket is always 3 layers.

• Like 1

1:How do i check that oil is being pumped into the head, --------10mm hex oil check plug above the cam chain tensioner

also should i pour oil over the cams before starting as the head is dry-------Yes

2.How do i check that coolant is flowing through the head as i have put the thermostat on the E head.--------You don't.  Don't worry about it

3:I put a triple layer athena standard head gasket on the E head, i have readicon1.png that it runs with a single is this a problem at all.--------THe base gasket can be 1 or 3 layers.  The head gasket is always 3 layers.