New DRZ owner - exhaust question

Apologies if this is a stupid question, but I'm pretty new to bikes. I've bought a 2009 DRZ SM to use as a commuter bike whilst working short-term in Africa and whilst it all seems to be in good nick, but there is a load of heatwrap that has been wrapped around the exhaust and nearby hose. I've had a good dig around and there isn't anything wrong with the exhaust, but I'm a bit confused why it may have been put on (aside from protecting the nearby pipe)

Is this a common fault with the DRZ series or has the previous owner been over-cautious?

Either way it's pretty tatty so I'd like to rip it off or reapply some new stuff if necessary.

Any advice much appreciated.

Harry

IMG_1399.JPG

It would appear the previous owner was trying to protect the water hose from the exhaust.  You can replace the wrap if you like.  It is not a common modification to do.  I doubt there is any need for the heat wrap insulation.  Do you know the brand of the exhaust system?  A stock exhaust would not need any insulation.

Thanks for the quick response.

To be honest, I'm not sure if the exhaust is standard or not, there are no aftermarket logos on it, but it sounds and looks different to my mate's UK-spec DRZ SM. The bike has had a few other aftermarket parts put on it, so it wouldn't surprise me if the exhaust had been changed.

Sounds like the previous owner was just being cautious then, the temperature in Ghana varies between 30 & 35 degrees C so it's pretty warm out here!

Are you able to tell if it's a standard one from this pic?

Thanks,

Harry

IMG_1398.JPG

The muffler is not standard.  The pipe in front may or may not be standard.  Can't tell from the back.

I actually have that same stretch of "exhaust" heat-wrapped... all the way to the shock reservoir. My DG pipe sits very close to the shock reservoir and as such I figure it can't hurt to divert some of that heat away from it. It's probably not needed, but it can't hurt.