What oil are you putting in your bike?

Don't want to start a huge discussion, but haven't found many posts about what oil/weight people are putting in their 2013/2014 crf250l's besides the stuff from the dealer.

Manual states 10w-30 which is thinner than most 4 stroke thumpers and that just seems odd to me. I'm not gonna be bringing my bike back to the dealer for it's 600 mile service because I'm a BMW technician so I'd rather save the money and do it my self. What other stuff do they perform in the service? 

Don't want to start a huge discussion, but haven't found many posts about what oil/weight people are putting in their 2013/2014 crf250l's besides the stuff from the dealer.

Manual states 10w-30 which is thinner than most 4 stroke thumpers and that just seems odd to me. I'm not gonna be bringing my bike back to the dealer for it's 600 mile service because I'm a BMW technician so I'd rather save the money and do it my self. What other stuff do they perform in the service? 

I am also interested in just everybody posting what oil they use and why .... no big discussion like you said. Just to see what most people use. 

as far as other stuff they do on the first service .... inspect the bike and check the valves. I did not take mine in either as I feel it is just a very expensive oil change. 

Why is a BMW tech riding a Honda? :thumbsup:  :lol:

Everything that needs to be checked/changed is documented in the owners manual you got with the bike

Edited by Positron007

I'm running Klotz 10W-30 in mine.

Been using Klotz in all my mikes for years with no oil related problems popping up.

I was running Honda 10W-40 during break in, but switched to syn after a few hundred miles.

Available at Rocky Mountain.

35-243-2T.jpg?1351184163

Im running Motul 7100 10W/30 but thinking of changing to 10W/40 now that I have the big piston in the bike.

Mobil-one  T/4 in 10/40 weight or is that 4/t?? :lol:

Motul 5100 10W/40.