Sign in to follow this  

Help with some gas mixture math, please!

Okay, so Im helping a friend mix 32:1 gas. I mix this a lot for my bike, and I know its 16 OZ of oil per 4 gallons of gas. I'm trying to figure out what that number would be per 1 gallon.

Some math says if you divide that in half, it would be 8 oz oil per 2 gal gas.

Divide that and you get 4 oz oil per 1 gal of gas.

Can someone just verify this number real quick?

Thanks.

Edited by lethalweapon100

Remember when you told your mom," why do I have to study this stuff, I'll never use it in real life...."

• Like 6

Remember when you told your mom," why do I have to study this stuff, I'll never use it in real life...."

I damn near failed algebra...I've got to take geometry next year. Groan...I'm a better mechanic than mathematician.

I damn near failed algebra...I've got to take geometry next year. Groan...I'm a better mechanic than mathematician.

you should understand the numbers in the mix. One gallon is 128 ounces. 32:1 has 32 times more gas than oil. So, 128/32=4 ounces per gallon (32:1). 128/50=2.54 ounces per gallon (50:1).

• Like 5

Wow lot easier in the uk

32ml to 1 litre of fuel.

Just X 32 by how many litres u have and BOOM!!

Good job shrub..... Getting the right mix is important, but knowing how to get there is better....

You can't be a good mechanic without math,Chemistry and physics,study up!

Without those three you will only be an average mechanic.

• Like 1

Go buy a ratio rite cup

x2 almost completely takes the brain power out of mixing! Even though I don't have a two stroke at the time being, the ratio rite always finds a use. Measuring engine oil, measuring fork oil and pretty much any other sort of fluid that needs measuring in a dirt bike.

Edited by screnshaw400

new math