Sign in to follow this  

2003 shim stack help

First off, I am not versed in the exact names of suspension components so please go easy on me. I have a 2003 rm250 (KYB 46U forks) and am looking to get the valving more suited for the woods racing I am trying to get into. I have been riding since 4 yrs of age but just recently raced my first H/S in the vet b class. I finished 8th from last out of 21 in that class. I am 5' 10" 195lbs. I ride in rutted rooty woods with a bit of MX track as part of the course. My bike has the following mods: skid plate, hand guards, 18" rw, rekluse, fatty, 7.0 slide in the cleanly jetted carb. I have the correct springs as the sag is correct.

My problem is the harsh suspension. I am deflecting off everything and it feels as though the bars are getting jerked out of my hands....especially on multiple 4" bumps. I have spent hours adjusting first the fork rebound then compression then shock rebound followed by H/S then low speed compression...only to end up on full open everywhere still getting beat to piss.

I have taken the forks apart and found what appears to be a very stiff shim stack on the base valve?

This is not stock according to what I've read. And there is no "peening" over the nut....it doesnt look like ther ever was! I wonder if these are aftermarket bases. I can't seem to get a photo up, but I will keep trying. Also there are no other shims on the rebound side of the valve. Just a 24.40 face shim.

I want to get to plushville. Not concerned with taking on big doubles and such....just soaking up the chop.

I hope I have provided enough info for practical advice from you generous suspension gurus.

Thanks!

Edited by paddymotodaddy

search the forum for the kyb bladder mod.

I think this bike has a bladder fork.

Do the mod and post your valving here.

Alright, these are non bladder forks.

I did a RM 250 02 and it had bladders, so I assumed...