Sign in to follow this  

finding TDC with a rekluse

I'm looking to check my valves .....How can I find TOP DEAD CENTER with a rekluse clutch installed?  2009 450exc. what a pain in the a s s .

thanks

Thank you! Will I be able to reuse the gasket ?

Edited by dirtfernie

Yes, the gasket is normally reusable for a number of times if you are careful during removal.  Note that finding TDC is not necessary if all you want to do is to check valve clearances.

okay good point why not?  i suspect tight valves so i can check the clearance without tdc , but to adjust i will need to find tdc?

Im a rookie here, im trying to find out why im having starting problems after the bike is warmed up.  it starts no problem cold just not after ive been out for awhile, i have to kick it over a million times before it gets started.  any tips > anything thanks!

okay good point why not?  i suspect tight valves so i can check the clearance without tdc , but to adjust i will need to find tdc?

Im a rookie here, im trying to find out why im having starting problems after the bike is warmed up.  it starts no problem cold just not after ive been out for awhile, i have to kick it over a million times before it gets started.  any tips > anything thanks!

i would first look at the yets and spark plug ;)

• Like 1

i would first look at the yets and spark plug ;)

i just checked the plug and it doesnt look so good a moderate amount of carbon build up after not so many hours.  any reason why that would happen?

Too Rich. Can you post a photo of the plug?

alright , solutions to being to rich? that will affect starting while the bike is warm?  ill try to post a pic later

Edited by dirtfernie

Will need to jet. Did you happen to buy the bike and then move some where? I find that this is the number one cause of bad jetting.