Sign in to follow this  

Aluminum Panniers Who has them? Bought,Built Pics?

I want to build or buy Aluminum panniers for my drz, I'm interested in building a set because of the huge cost of buying a whole set up, Just interested to see what routes others have taken. Thanks in advance!!! 
(I watched "the long way down" on netflix and decided I have to have them  :ride: )

Look at Army surplus stores, large ammo cans. I've seen several Z's with these mounted to the subframe.

That's a great idea!, I wonder what the weight of two of them vs aluminum would be?

Edited by Corrad

They're aluminum, and fairly light. The look either 16 or 18 Ga, Sheet metal.

They're aluminum, and fairly light. The look either 16 or 18 Ga, Sheet metal.

Ammo cans are steel NOT aluminum. That being said they aren't real heavy.

I remember years ago when I worked as a laborer at a construction company one of my coworkers had a large ammo can for his toolbox and that thing was a tank. Very tough but heavy. Ill have to find some and check them out. 

pelican cases... i took a 3 months, 16500 mile trip on the GS, with Jesse aluminum cans and couldn't get rid of them quick enough after I got back.

I have since made myself a setup with pelican cases and couldn't be happier. They are weight comparable, indestructible and simple to customize.

I wouldn't go aluminum anymore if my life depended on it... it took one good tip-over and the left can was out of shape, leaked and needed welding.

Just something to think about.

• Like 1

pelican cases... i took a 3 months, 16500 mile trip on the GS, with Jesse aluminum cans and couldn't get rid of them quick enough after I got back.

I have since made myself a setup with pelican cases and couldn't be happier. They are weight comparable, indestructible and simple to customize.

I wouldn't go aluminum anymore if my life depended on it... it took one good tip-over and the left can was out of shape, leaked and needed welding.