Sign in to follow this  

Bottoming out on wr250

Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie to all this. I've a 2004 wr250f. I mainly green lane. I've noticed that over some bumps my rear suspension bottoms out.

I've checked my Haynes and there seems no way to adjust the stock suspension to a harder setting.

So I guess I need new, well, what?! Would new springs do it? Or do I need a whole new suspension system including the dampers and such?

Any advice to a naive newbie very welcome.

Cheers

Nick

Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie to all this. I've a 2004 wr250f. I mainly green lane. I've noticed that over some bumps my rear suspension bottoms out.

I've checked my Haynes and there seems no way to adjust the stock suspension to a harder setting.

So I guess I need new, well, what?! Would new springs do it? Or do I need a whole new suspension system including the dampers and such?

Any advice to a naive newbie very welcome.

Cheers

Nick

The shock on a 2004 WR-250FS is adjustable like current shocks on current motocross bikes:

*Spring preload

*Spring rate (by changing the spring, if needed/wanted)

*High-speed compression damping

*Low-speed compression damping

*Rebound damping

*Nitrogen reservoir pressure (to some degree)

My advice is to ditch that Haynes manual and get a copy of the WR-250FS Owner's Service Manual the bike came with from brand-new, as this book covers suspension tuning in some detail.

The first things I'd do would be greasing all of the rear suspension bearings/seals, having the shock serviced if it hasn't been in the last year, and then setting the rider sag and checking free sag to get an idea of how the spring rate suits your weight.

The shock is actually as adjustable as the shocks on the motocross bikes, and is, in fact, straight from the YZ range of motocross bikes.

1. Shock is adjustable so adjust it.

2. If it still bottoms out, seal may be blown and no oil in shock. If that is the case, take it to a suspension expert to have it fixed.