I'm in the Club! California plated XR650R

Just picked up this little gem on a trade for my custom Roadstar and I even got a small stack of cash. It is a 2001 and it's California plated. Bless the man who plated this thing back in '02...

It has warp 9 wheels, some sort of cool anodized hubs (I'll figure them out), cool rotors,  full FMF exhaust, Voyager GPS, Scotts steering dampener, Scotts shark fin(?),some slick levers, baja designs kit, a big 'ol gas tank (some brand/model help would be appreciated!), what seems to be a lower seat, etc. I do really care about the technical aspects of each of these things, so don't think my vague description of some of these items means I am not in the know. I am just new to these machines, specifically.

4900 miles on the GPS and very little wear on the stator and clutch covers, so I assume the milage is pretty dang low still. Everything I read to look for when buying one of these seems to be in good shape. He says the clutch was "done". I assume they did the fix if it was needed. Either way, I'm checking.

It has yet to be uncorked. :) and it is still a beast. Also, I get some random low idles and headlight dimming that would lead me to believe the stator is to blame. Time to get out the multimeter! I will be rewinding the stator as per the write-ups online.

Here is my new beauty! She needs a good cleaning and polishing. I've already gotten rid of the scuffs you see on the side. Also, going to get a bit more creative than the PO with the electrical routing...

first pics1.jpg

first pics2.jpg

first pics3.jpg

first pics4.jpg

first pics5.jpg

9680607832_7e2ee52ceb_b.jpg

note 

when it's a nice sunny day outside don't take pics of new bike in a dark room  LOL

looks slick  and the plated deal is the best part

Ha! I know what you mean. Those are quick and dirty pics. Some nice shots will be up once I get her decent looking.

Here is a pic I took of the bike I traded, Ansel Adams. ;-) Only kidding!

rrside.jpg