Sign in to follow this  

06 cr250 rebuild

Hey guys I'm brand new to thumper talk and brand new to the cr world , i have done alot of research since i bought the bike and have learned alot from this forum thanks to everyone for the great information . When i got the bike it ran strong and seemed near perfect but shortly after i got it ( i put 3 hrs on it ) it started to foul plugs . Every time i would stRt it up cold it would foul a plug . Then within 1 more hour of use ( the bike has a hr meter) it developed a loud knock and within 1 more hr i lost the connecting rod bearing :( i have all the parts ordered to totally rebuild the bike. I am looking for some advice. Could the crank issue cause me to foul plugs/run rich or should i pull the carb apart and check the float height before firing up the mew engine . It had a jd jet kit and for the first few rides it ran great

Hey guys I'm brand new to thumper talk and brand new to the cr world , i have done alot of research since i bought the bike and have learned alot from this forum thanks to everyone for the great information . When i got the bike it ran strong and seemed near perfect but shortly after i got it ( i put 3 hrs on it ) it started to foul plugs . Every time i would stRt it up cold it would foul a plug . Then within 1 more hour of use ( the bike has a hr meter) it developed a loud knock and within 1 more hr i lost the connecting rod bearing :( i have all the parts ordered to totally rebuild the bike. I am looking for some advice. Could the crank issue cause me to foul plugs/run rich or should i pull the carb apart and check the float height before firing up the mew engine . It had a jd jet kit and for the first few rides it ran great

Sounds like it blew the right crank seal once one competent of the lower end starts to go its not long before it takes out the whole rotating assembly,

Your best bet is to rebuild the engine with OEM Honda parts