Sign in to follow this  

Engine died and wont start back up

Hey guys,

I have been lurking here a bit and reading up. I have a new to me 06 yz250f and I was out running the trails today and i must have hit something at some point and did not notice the oil leaking out of the oil tank. Any way busting down the trail and the bike just goes blahhhhhh and wont start back up. I added oil thinking maybe I could get it to fire up for a second just to make me feel better but no such luck. Probably wasnt the smartest thing to do but I wasnt really thinking i guess. My Buddy rides an RM and said it didnt lock up so it shouldnt be to bad but another guy says thats a high psi system and not good at all. Still has comp but dosent seem to have as much as it did before this happened. Where is a good starting point to find out whats going on? I am very new to the dirt bike world and looking to learn any help would be great. Thank in advance

-Levi 

null_zpseec22f11.jpg

Edited by MudBug20

It did'nt make any noise at all out of the normal that I noticed it ran really good. There is a small crack in the oil tank under byt the line and there is no oil in the sight glass. Like I said I added a qt and when i kick it over it just sqirts out. It just died was running great then blahhhh and then nothing. I did not check spark or anything. I took the head cover off and to me it all looks okay. Timing is good. Is there any kind of low oil sensor or anything like that, Is the oil tank high pressure?

Edited by MudBug20

I cant get the maunal in the FAQ's to work does anyone have a direct link to a manual? Or have one they maybe could email me?

I bet you're in need of a new piston