Sign in to follow this  

Crf 450 Hard start after rebuild

I have a crf 450 2004,

( I'm no mechanic so please bare with me ).

A couple of weeks ago decided to mess around with the carb as it would die after 20-30 seconds when idling. I pulled the needle out at the top of the carb and the pilot jet out of the bottom in the bowl. Cleaned them, put them back in and it wouldn't start at all just backfiring all the time. So I took it to a shop and I was told it needed a rebuild (pistons and conrod, along with gaskets).

After the rebuild the mechanic at the shop kicked it over but told me I needed to have the choke out, half throttle and use hot start, for the life of me I can't get it going at all, just more backfiring.

Does this sound normal? When cold it used to start good with the cold start technique but now nothing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Mine starts cold first kick with choke on No fiddling with throttle or hot start at all,

If it hasn't run since you paid to get it rebuilt I would take it back since it sounds like he fixed something that wasn't the problem

First thing that comes to mind is timing or valves not set right or decompression not set right or something is plugged in the carb or not set right.

Do you have a service manual?

Edited by darren013

You messed up something in the carb, if it ran fine before you cleaned the jets then it was fine, I'm not totally sure that rebuild was necessary, id check your float height & needle position

I have a crf 450 2004,

( I'm no mechanic so please bare with me ).

A couple of weeks ago decided to mess around with the carb as it would die after 20-30 seconds when idling. I pulled the needle out at the top of the carb and the pilot jet out of the bottom in the bowl. Cleaned them, put them back in and it wouldn't start at all just backfiring all the time. So I took it to a shop and I was told it needed a rebuild (pistons and conrod, along with gaskets).