Do I need a new connecting rod?

Hi guys,

This is my first time rebuilding my top end on my 2007 rm 250 since I bought it. It has also been years for me since i have rebuild a top end.

Anyway, after inserting the new piston I noticed that the piston did not rock back and forth smoothly on the connecting rod. After taking the piston off to inspect I noticed that there are tiny grooves in the small end of the connecting rod where the bearing sits. Is this normal? My gut says no, but they are so subtle and perfectly uniform that I almost think they should be there. Please let me know if this is by design - apologize for the pics it's the best I can do.

Thanks!!

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1378687653.801612.jpg

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1378687677.950677.jpg

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1378687690.901696.jpg

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1378687702.884964.jpg

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1378687581.385587.jpg

Yes it needs to be replaced! 

You could probably "get by" with it but it will put extra stress on the bearings.

Edited by BDubb106

Yeah that's what I though - guess I'm not riding next weekend...

Thanks for the reply!

Yea not worth risking it and causing excessive wear everywhere else, and possibly something going wrong and destroying your motor.

Yup I agree. Never taken a bottom end apart before though - should be interesting. Good thing Suzuki makes a great owners manual!

Its really easy... just as easy as the top end. Just take your time, stay organized and label your parts as you pull them apart if you need to. May help to take pictures as well. 

Good advice, thanks again!

Rebuild, or replace your crank, I bet the big end isn't far behind. What type of oil, and ratio have you been running?

Good advice, thanks again!

If you need any help be sure to ask here. We will be able to help you out if you have any questions or get stuck.

if those are indeed grooves where the needle bearings ride  you caught this in time . good job