Sign in to follow this  

In need of advice from older riders

Hi everyone. I'm in need of help from someone that has been riding/racing for some time and has been around the sport for a while. I am a freshman in college and have to write a paper on a "common misconception". I have to summarize an argument(s) about the topic and then state my own viewpoint with facts supporting it. I would like to write about something to do with offroad riding or racing. I have been riding and working on my own machines for about 5-6 years and consider myself pretty mechanically inclined, so i would like to write about a topic that encompasses these traits in someway. I am open to all ideas and criticism that you guys may have. Thanks and i hope someone will be able to help me out.

One very common misconception is that mx racing requires only a twist of the throttle and therefore isn't really a sport. Those of us who actually ride know that pro mx racers are some of the best endurance athletes in the world.

• Like 7

One very common misconception is that mx racing requires only a twist of the throttle and therefore isn't really a sport. Those of us who actually ride know that pro mx racers are some of the best endurance athletes in the world.

For the purposes of an English paper, this would be a very good topic to use.  Anyone can relate to endurance because we've all ran around the playround in elementary school.  But not everyone can relate to.. for instance, the definition of "powerband," since non-riders misconceive the powerband to be a mechanical device on the machine. 

You could buy a cheap heartbeat meter and wear it on your next ride.. then compare that to your heartrate while running or riding a bicycle.  That would give a lotta meat for your paper, you could expound endlessly on a lotta this stuff.

Edited by LovingOffroadPain

write about how infact 4 strokes are not better then 2 strokes.

(gets popcorn and sits back)

• Like 6