Sign in to follow this  

New XR Owner Questions, Please help!

Hey,

So I recenetly got a 1986 Honda XR250R. All I can say is I had quite a lot of work at the shop put into it and it is running amazing. I was so surprised.

Anyway. So what gas would you guys recommend putting in it? I was planning on 91. Also how long can that sit? It wont be always staying at my house so I was curious if I were to leave it for 2 or 3 weeks without touching it if that will be fine or if I should drain it.

Also, is it true that after riding I should turn the fuel off and run it until it dies? That's what I was told but I never knew if it was actually true.

What oil would you guys recommend I use in the bike?
Last question, total noob question, there is almost like a little cap at the end of the exhaust. What is that? Am I supposed to leave that on? I mean it's on there tight. I haven't have a good look at it so I cant describe it too well, but Im pretty sure ive seen other bikes with something like it. But of course it's better to be safe then sorry.

Thanks to all of you who help.

The gas will be fine my dads xr350 sits for a year at a time and starts third kick and runs great

You don't need to run it out of gas.

I use 10w40 castrol

That cap is a baffle and makes the bike quieter I took mine out

Better still, keep the fuel in your tank treated with StaBil.

If you keep the fuel treated, no need to run it dry, but def always shut off the petcock.

I doubt it needs 91 octane. The most modern XRs I think only ran as high as 9.5:1 comp ratios stock. Surely an '86 machine isn't higher than that and may be lower.

Edited by Trailryder42

Good advice above.

Turn off the gas after every ride.   Sometimes the float valve will stick.

The new California ethanol mix kills carbs quickly.   I have gone decades without ever using Stabil or draining the carbs.   I do use it now.

Which Oil will start wars.   Much like religion.