Sign in to follow this  

What chain and sprockets should I buy?

I'm a newb when it comes to chains. I have an '06 SM with 15-41 gearing. I think I want to keep the same gearing... and probably an O-ring because I do mostly street riding right?

Any links to good kits/deals are appreciated.

Ok cool, so where is the best place to buy, and how many links do I need?

You need 114......and as far as where to buy, compare on e-bay. I got mine from the local motoshop and he gives me a 5%discount off what I find online...plus no shipping. BTW, I don't have an O ring chain....mine is a 520ZVM-X

I would look for a kit. Did so on a different bike and it was easier and cheaper. Get it all at once and it was plug and play.

K... I am looking for an O-ring chain because it requires less maintenance, correct? You are all suggesting x-ring and non o-ring chains

O rings have an "O" seal and x rings seal at two points. If you're going to use it off road at all, I persoanlly would get the O ring chain. I wouldn't say the O is less maintenance, but I would say it needs less maintenance then the X ring to get the same life out of them both.

In a nutshell, I'd say the O-ring is better at sealing.

Edited by ZMagic97

You need 114......and as far as where to buy, compare on e-bay. I got mine from the local motoshop and he gives me a 5%discount off what I find online...plus no shipping. BTW, I don't have an O ring chain....mine is a 520ZVM-X

114 ? hmm i could have sworn all the dizzers came with 112...

• Like 1

114 ? hmm i could have sworn all the dizzers came with 112...

Whooops......good catch, my bad.....112 is right. Thanks   :(

I used the Primary Drive steel sprockets and gold X-ring chain kit on the WR426F that I used to have and it worked great!  For $89 + some miscellaneous parts to get my order over $100, I was quite happy with it.  Will most likely get the same thing for the DRZ when it needs it.