Sign in to follow this  

93 cr250 clutch not disengaging

I have been lurking here for a while but this is my first time posting. I am new to riding and for my first bike I bought a 93 cr250 and been riding it for a few months. The problem is after camping rolling my bike off the trailer it stayed in gear when I pulled the lever in. There was no issue when I was riding it but now it's disengaging. I've tried adjusting the cable and the problem is still there. I started it in neutral and kicked it in gear while pulling the lever, the bike pulled but didn't stall when I applied the brakes. Letting brakes go the bike starts to pull. With the bike off I can't roll it at all in gear and the lever pulled in. I would appreciate any help

Thanks

If you have looked over all the small things and when you pull the clutch lever in, it feels good / normal (minus the clutch not engaging) look at your clutch basket. There is a chance the clutch discs have notched there way into it and causing the clutch to not engage properly. This exact problem to a "t" just happened to my buddy. Good luck.

I took it apart and there is a very slight notching in he basket from the plates. Is there a tolerance for this it seems very minor?

Thanks

Any notching at all will hinder performance.  If it's minor you can remove the basket and file the fingers until they have a flat surface again.  However, this is only a bandaid as the plates will now have more clearance between fingers to "hammer" back and forth, so the wear will be accelerated.

Is your cable adjusted properly?  You should have a small amount of free play before the lever starts to actually pull the cable.  If you can fit a nickel in between the purch and lever that is usually a good estimate of proper slack.  If you have way too much slack in the cable, you will not be fully disengaging the clutch which will also cause drag.

I agree with callen and Scotty.