Sign in to follow this  

2013 SFF Fork Rebuild - Trashed Center Bolt/RebAdj

I got a set of new bushings and a green SKF seal kit and some oil to hopefully reduce the friction in my '13 SFF fork.  I am not a pro for sure, but I have done a couple of WP twin cart forks, and a 2010 Honda CRF250R Showa 48mm fork (which btw is the fork that the new 48mm SFF is based on).  I have never had so much trouble getting the center bolt out.  The SFF fork damper side on the left should be a piece of cake to take apart with no spring, and mostly it is, but I beat on the center bolt with a socket and hammer to break the threads loose and then went at it with a 21mm socket after putting the fork dropout in a vise.  It took a ton of force to get it going, and it never got easy to turn.  It did not seem to have a lot of loctite on the threads, but it must have been strong, or else the two different alloys bonded together enough to cause this.  I messed up the threads pretty good.  I ordered a new center bolt/reb adj and it is cheap luckily ($26).  If it were a Suzuki RMZ, which has a very similar fork, this part would be $130!  Maybe they have a better bolt/adj and it would be smart to use it.... who knows.

Anyway, I do not know if I should have used a heat gun prior to trying to remove the bolt, but this has not been an issue in the past.  I am confident I can clean up the threads on the dropout and get the fork going safely again, but this is an issue in my mind, that kawasaki should work on. People are going to do their own fork rebuilds...they should not have to damage the fork to remove this bolt.