Sign in to follow this  

Mx gear

I'm going to be getting some gear hear in a little while. Jersey, pants, boots, chest protector etc. etc. etc.

For a chest protector, I'd like to have a neck brace. What are some options? For a helmet, I've read up on them and I'll get one of the double layer eps or what ever its called. Does it matter what helmet to where w/ a brace? Thanks

In terms on chest protectors that incorp the neck brace have a look at Leatt and EVS

http://www.leatt-brace.com/index.php/choose-your-sport/mx/leatt-body-protector-adventure

http://evs-sports.com/store/home.php?cat=266

Some of them are made for the neck brace. Im running the Leatt one and couldnt be happier... 

For a helmet, remember you only have one head, and it pays to protect it, get something solid, depending on your budget... 

http://www.airoh.com/helmets/off_road/aviator/rockstar#more-1

Hope that helps a little...  :ride:

When I started riding again about 2 years ago I bought the cheapest stuff I could find and then started upgrading.  For boots, I was told that Gaerne is the safest.  I don't know if that's true but I just bought them and they fit awesome and feel very secure.  They are pricey though.  Some boots are really soft and maybe you can shift better but I'd rather have sturdy ones.

The Leatt chest protector works perfectly with the brace.  I have Fox body armor and it doesn't really go with my neck brace but I make it work.  Leatt is coming out with a new chest and back protector called the 5.5 HD which looks awesome and I might look into it when it comes out like next month.  For helmets, I think that double layer is a little better than single layer but if you want to go all out (and empty your wallet) then the 6D has a double layer with shock absorbers between this.  I have one and it's very comfortable and ventilated and to me it was worth the money.