Sign in to follow this  

My carb WAS perfect... until I messed with it

I don't normally like messing with something that works well, but I wanted to re-route my vent tubes and bought a 7602 Racing vent filter. Plus, when I bought the bike, the dealer gave me an MSR mixture screw, so I installed that, too.

Prior to this, my bike ran perfect. Now, it sometimes bogs if I snap the throttle open (not too often, but enough to be a bother). And, if I'm cruising at a constant rpm, sometimes it will surge a little, like it's not getting enough gas. And, gas drips out the overflow if I leave the petcock on.

It still runs pretty good, but it ran perfect before I made these changes, and I'm not sure what to do. (I'm not very good with carbs, esp. modern ones.) I tried the mixture screw 1.5 turns out (as MSR suggested), but I'm pretty sure mine was 2 turns out, so that's where I have it now, but it ain't right.

Any ideas?

The mixture screw's [old] o-ring didn't come out, so I assume it was ok to put the new screw in and it would seat once screwed-in. 

Hey there Ron, I would suggest ditching the MSR fuel screw if it's one of those aluminum ones. I never could get my bikes to run right with the aluminum fuel screw. Another option, although pricey, is to just have Tokyo Mods do your carb. Worth every penny.

Hey there Ron, I would suggest ditching the MSR fuel screw if it's one of those aluminum ones. I never could get my bikes to run right with the aluminum fuel screw. Another option, although pricey, is to just have Tokyo Mods do your carb. Worth every penny.

You mean, the MSR screw actually made your bikes run worse? That's kinda crazy. I noticed the tip of the screw didn't look as "nice" as the stock screw, but figured tons of people use these things... so, they must be ok.